Delicious (and Crazy Simple) Apple Cider Recipe

I really wish I had thought of this during winter, when my toes were numb and my body was shivering. But better late than never.

True, apple cider recipes are ubiquitous  on the internet, I wanted to share my experience with you readers.

IMG_20150402_155146018What you need:

  • 4 Granny Smith Apples
  • 4 Empire Apples (Any red apples, really)
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon
  • A mason jar to hold extra juice (make sure it’s clean, mine has cider in it)
  • A juicer

*TIP* Buy apples in the big bags, or in bulk at a place like Sam’s Club or BJs.

Quick digression on why juicing and juicers are awesome: Before I got my juicer I thought, who has the money to spend on smashing up fruits and vegetables!  What a waste! Then, I bought my first juicer. On ebay. For $55. It was a steal. For $150, you can get a juicer that’s nicer than you’ll ever need, and will last forever if you take care of it… i.e Don’t stuff whole lemons down the shoot without first taking the peel off.

You’ll also experience the healing effects of juicing. After a weekend of indulging a tad too much, I was in gut pain to the extreme! I did this little fast for a day and felt good as new. Phew! I also added 2 stalks of celery and a tiny dash of cayenne. Num num. Very colorful, too.

OK, back to the cider!

What to do: 

  1. Juice 8 apples, 2 at a time. There will be a little froth on top, and that’s OK. Juicers come with special cups that catch the foam before it pours into your mason jar. You’ll see a pretty green and red swirly mix from the apples.
  2. Pour juice into a pot, and add the cinnamon. Feel free to experiment here. Other flavors that go with apples are: allspice and nutmeg. For an adult version, splash in some bourbon, brandy, cognac, or RUM.
  3. Bring the juice to a simmer and stir. Don’t let it get to a complete boil.
  4. You’ll notice the cinnamon will start to make this delicious swirly froth, much like the milk froth on a cappuccino. Keep stirring.IMG_20150402_155227773
  5. Turn off stove when it’s good and hot – but not boiling.
  6. Sip ’til your hearts content out of your favorite mug. IMG_20150402_160154099

2 – 3 Servings/cups

Leave a Reply

